Skip to main content

The last of the Triple Crown’s three stakes races will be run at Belmont Park tomorrow.  In the history of the Triple Crown, its winners number only eleven–will there be a twelfth added to this illustrious group of thoroughbreds on Saturday? If American Pharoah wins the Belmont Stakes, he’ll be the first to take the crown since 1978. As you’ll read below, it was not until War Admiral’s win in 1937 that the term “Triple Crown” was used to describe the “great turf stakes of the season.” Here’s a look back at the eleven horses who managed the exceptional feat as seen through the Richmond Times Dispatch:

Sir Barton, 1919

Richmond Times Dispatch, 12 June 1919.

Gallant Fox, 1930

Richmond Planet, 08 June 1930.

Omaha, 1935

Richmond Times Dispatch, 09 June 1935.

War Admiral, 1937

Richmond Planet, 06 June 1937.
Richmond Planet, 06 June 1937.

Whirlaway, 1941

Richmond Planet, 08 June 1941.

Count Fleet, 1943

Richmond Planet, 06 June 1943.

Assault, 1946

Richmond Planet, 02 June 1946.

Citation, 1948

Richmond Planet, 13 June 1948.

Secretariat, 1973

Richmond Planet, 10 June 1973.
Richmond Planet, 10 June 1973.
Richmond Planet, 10 June 1973.

Seattle Slew, 1977

Richmond Planet, 12 June 1977.

Affirmed, 1978

Richmond Planet, 10 June 1978.
Kelley Ewing

Senior Project Cataloger

One Comment

Leave a Reply